Industry News
Agility Digit 5 Makes Safety the Scaling Test for Humanoid Robots
Agility has formally unveiled Digit 5 with a 22.7 kg repeated-lift payload, 9-minute charging, swappable end effectors, and a cooperative-safety architecture aimed at barrier-free industrial work.
Agility Robotics has formally unveiled Digit 5 with a 50 lb (22.7 kg) repeated-lift payload, a 9-minute recharge cycle, and a new safety architecture designed to let the humanoid work closer to people without the fixed barriers that still shape much industrial automation. Those are meaningful changes because Agility is not positioning Digit 5 as a lab prototype. The company says more than $300 million in multi-year orders are tied to the new generation, with early access planned for the first half of 2027 and general availability by the end of 2027.
The important word is designed. Agility's own product page says Digit 5 remains in development, that specifications are preliminary, and that some safety features are still being developed. The announcement therefore moves the product from a previously described roadmap item into a defined commercial platform, but it does not yet prove the full safety case or the promised productivity in customer operations.
That distinction matters for the humanoid market. The hardest industrial question is shifting from "can the robot walk and move a tote?" to "can the same machine do enough useful work, near people, for enough hours per day to justify deployment at scale?" Digit 5 is Agility's answer to that question.
Key Stats
22.7 kg
Repeated Lift Payload
9 min
Recharge Time
20+ hrs
Target Work per Day
$300M+
Multi-Year Orders
The Safety Architecture Is the Real Product Change
Payload and battery numbers are easy to compare, but Agility is emphasizing safety because proximity to people is one of the practical constraints on humanoid deployment. Traditional industrial robots are often separated from workers by cages, fences, scanners, or defined safety zones. A mobile humanoid loses much of its flexibility if every workflow still has to be physically isolated.
Digit 5 adds three layers that Agility says are intended to reduce that dependence. First, the robot uses multiple sensing technologies and proprietary human-detection software to monitor for nearby people. Second, it adds visual and audible cues intended to make the robot's motion easier for nearby workers to interpret. Third, an independent safety controller can command responses when a person enters an unsafe distance, including stopping or moving the robot into a seated position.
Agility is also integrating NVIDIA's IGX Thor and Halos safety framework, and the company says it is contributing to ANSI/A3 TR R15.108 and ISO 25785-1 work related to dynamically stable industrial mobile robots and humanoids. That gives the safety story more substance than a generic "safe around humans" claim, but it is still important not to overstate what has been demonstrated.
What Is Confirmed, and What Is Not
• Confirmed: Agility has publicly specified the sensing, signaling, and independent-controller architecture it intends to use for Digit 5.
• Confirmed: Digit 4 has accumulated more than 65,000 operating hours across customer sites, according to Agility.
• Not yet proven: Digit 5 itself has not yet accumulated comparable field hours, and Agility says some safety features remain in development.
• Not disclosed: intervention rates, customer-by-customer uptime, and fleet counts tied specifically to Digit 5 orders.
Digit 5 vs. Digit 4: The Engineering Trade
The fifth generation is heavier, stronger, and designed to spend a much larger share of the day working instead of charging. Agility says the robot weighs 284 lb (129 kg), stands 5 ft 11 in (1.81 m), and reaches up to 7.2 ft (2.2 m). The new leg system uses proprietary cycloidal actuator technology and is rated for repeated 50 lb lifts, a 40 percent payload increase over the prior generation.
The battery strategy changes just as much. Agility lists a 90-minute runtime with a 9-minute charge, which produces the company's stated 10:1 run-to-charge ratio. Digit 4 was described at 2:1. That is not the same as a 20-hour continuous battery. It is a duty-cycle claim that assumes repeated autonomous charging can be integrated into the workflow with little lost productive time.
| Specification | Digit 5 | Digit 4 / Prior Generation | Why It Matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Repeated lift payload | 22.7 kg / 50 lb | About 40% lower | Covers more single-person material-handling tasks. |
| Run-to-charge ratio | 10:1 | 2:1 | Raises the ceiling on productive hours without manual battery swaps. |
| Recharge time | 9 minutes | Longer prior cycle | Makes autonomous opportunity charging more practical. |
| Maximum reach | 2.2 m / 7.2 ft | 1.7 m / 5.5 ft | Expands access to shelving and machine interfaces. |
| End effectors | Swappable, ISO-standard flange | More task-specific configuration | Lets one base platform cover more workflows. |
| Commercial timing | Early access H1 2027; GA by end-2027 | Commercially deployed today | Separates proven Digit 4 operations from Digit 5 forward claims. |
The swappable gripper interface may be the least flashy but most strategically important hardware change. Humanoid vendors often argue that a human-shaped body can reuse infrastructure built for people. That advantage weakens if the robot still needs a different machine for each task. Agility's ISO-standard mounting approach is meant to let the same Digit move between tote handling, machine tending, kitting, sequencing, inspection, and palletizing with different tools rather than different robots.
The Commercial Evidence Is Stronger Than the Product Evidence
Agility has a more substantial operating record than most humanoid developers because Digit 4 is already working in customer facilities. The company says the prior generation has logged more than 65,000 hours across sites including GXO, Schaeffler, Amazon, and Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada. At GXO's Flowery Branch operation in Georgia, Agility says Digit passed 100,000 cumulative tote movements while maintaining about 98 percent accuracy while on task.
Those figures do not automatically transfer to Digit 5. They do, however, explain why the new machine looks like an operations-driven redesign rather than a clean-sheet demo robot. The heavier payload, faster charging, expanded reach, swappable tools, and safety controls all map to bottlenecks that appear only after robots spend time in real facilities.
The financial signal is also unusually concrete for the category. Agility says it had more than $300 million in multi-year customer orders for Digit 5 as of May 2026, subject to contractual milestones. The company's pending transaction with Churchill Capital Corp XI places those orders in a public-market context because Agility has filed an S-4 registration statement with the SEC. The transaction is still pending and should not be described as completed.
Key Insight
The strongest evidence behind Digit 5 is not that the new hardware has already proven itself. It is that Agility is redesigning from 65,000 hours of prior-generation field experience while customers have committed meaningful order value to the successor platform.
Why Barrier-Free Operation Could Change Humanoid Economics
A humanoid robot is most valuable when it can move across existing work areas and interact with equipment designed around human reach, aisle width, and material flow. If each deployment requires a fenced workcell, customers give up much of that flexibility and absorb additional integration cost. Cooperative safety is therefore not only a safety feature. It is part of the unit economics.
The same logic applies to charging. A 90-minute battery sounds modest when compared with an eight-hour human shift, but a 9-minute autonomous charge can be workable if the robot can opportunistically recharge without a technician. Agility's 20-plus-hour work-per-day target depends on that operational choreography, not simply on battery capacity.
This is also why the Arc fleet-management platform remains central. Arc connects Digit to warehouse management, warehouse execution, and manufacturing execution systems, while exposing fleet metrics such as uptime, throughput, and mean time between incidents. As the hardware becomes more general, software orchestration becomes the layer that decides whether a fleet behaves like one automation system or a collection of isolated robots.
What to Watch Before Calling Digit 5 Production-Proven
The next evidence threshold is straightforward. First, Agility needs to show Digit 5 operating at customer sites, not only in company demonstrations. Second, those deployments need measurable productivity and intervention data. Third, the safety system needs to move from architecture and development claims into validated operating procedures under the standards Agility is helping shape.
The European rollout adds another useful checkpoint. Agility says Digit 5 is expected to carry a CE mark and additional regulatory marks for the EU, Great Britain, and Northern Ireland. Early access is planned for the first half of 2027, followed by general availability by year-end. Certification timing, customer names, and actual fleet sizes will show whether the international expansion is a commercial launch or a limited early-access program.
Finally, watch the gap between contracted order value and recognized revenue. The $300 million figure is meaningful, but the contracts are subject to milestones, and Agility has not disclosed how many Digit 5 units that value represents. Investors and operators should treat order value as demand evidence, not as proof of delivered fleet scale.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is new in Digit 5?
Agility says Digit 5 adds a 22.7 kg repeated-lift payload, a 9-minute recharge cycle, a 10:1 run-to-charge ratio, swappable end effectors, 2.2 m reach, and a new cooperative-safety architecture intended to support work closer to people.
Is Digit 5 already commercially deployed?
Not yet at the scale implied by Agility's Digit 4 operating record. Agility says Digit 5 remains in development, with early access expected in the first half of 2027 and general availability expected by the end of 2027.
Does Digit 5 work without safety barriers?
Agility says the architecture is designed to reduce the need for external physical barriers by detecting people and triggering safe responses. The company also states that some safety features remain in development and that safety systems do not eliminate all operational risk.
How much demand has Agility disclosed?
Agility says it had more than $300 million in multi-year Digit 5 customer orders as of May 2026, subject to satisfaction of contractual milestones. It has not publicly mapped that value to a specific unit count.
The Bottom Line
Digit 5 is a material update because Agility has now attached concrete specifications, a safety architecture, and a 2027 availability schedule to the next generation that Biped.News previously covered only as an upcoming platform. The most important claim is not the 50 lb payload by itself. It is that a humanoid with real predecessor deployment data can become stronger, easier to tool, faster to recharge, and less dependent on fenced work areas at the same time.
The Bottom Line: Digit 5 moves Agility's scaling argument from "we have field hours" to "we redesigned around those field hours." The 2027 customer deployments will determine whether that engineering loop translates into safer, broader, and more economical humanoid work.